I apologize for my hiatus!

Some upcoming reviews to look forward to!

I’ve been reading a lot of books lately, and I am eager to share my thoughts on them.

I had the honor of receiving an advanced copy of Kieran Scott’s newest novel, “Only Everything.” I love her books, as well as the books she wrote under her pen name, Kate Brian. I became a fan of hers when I started reading her first series as Kate Brian, Private and the spin-off series Privilege. I also really enjoyed her “He’s So/ She’s So” that she released under her real name.

Her newest book is perfect for fans of the Percky Jackson series as well as fans of Sarah Dessen. It follows the life of the Eros, the original cupid, whose main purpose in life is bring couples together in true love. After being banished from Olympus for bringing a mortal back to life and falling in love with him, she must start over as a teenager on Earth. In order to save the life of her true love, Orion, she must match three couples without her powers. The task proves to be more challenging than she expected, and without the help of her mother Aphrodite (The Goddess of Love herself), and her sister, she is left to save her one true love alone. It was a great read, and I am definitely looking forward to the second book!

More titles I’ve read recently: Blood In The Water by Wilson Smith

Set in post Katrina New Orleans, it’s a tale of corruption, greed, and how a natural disaster changes those affected by it. The main character, Andrew Savoie, gets caught up in a scandal after he accepts a job as a Mortgage Broker with an established financial company. Before he knows it, he becomes the lover of Virginia Bard and he soon begins to realize that his success is less about his talent for the business, and more about the perks he’s receiving from being the boy toy of one of the most powerful woman in the business. After Virginia’s husband, the very successful Shelly Bard is carted off to jail, his life begins to unravel and he soon discovers that the decisions he’s made can cost him his life and new found success. This book really has it all, and it’s impossible not to get caught up in the story. The characters are rich and vibrant, and it’s impossible to put down. I would recommend this book to anyone, and it appeals to fan of all genres.

If I Stay and Where She Went by Gayle Foreman:

The incredibly talented cellist Mia and her family are in a horrific car accident that claims the life of her parents and younger brother. She begins to have an out of body experience, and witnesses the grief and devastation the accident causes the few remaining family, friends, and incredibly supportive boyfriend, Adam. Another book that was impossible to put down, as well as the the follow up “Where She Went.” It picks up three years after the accident. Mia has found success as a cellist, and her ex-boyfriend Adam has become a brooding pop star, who has trouble coming to terms with the increased attention that his fame has brought him, and he is still coping with the loss of his relationship with Mia.

A chance encounter with Mia suddenly throws Adam for a loop. Three years of hurt, heartache, and lingering feelings come to the surface when he realizes that despite his best efforts, he’s not over Mia. It’s a wonderful story of love, loss and coming to terms with tragedy. I would absolutely recommend these books.

My Name is Memory by Ann Brashares:

A love story that spans centuries. Truly one of the most beautiful and interesting books I’ve read thus far. The main character, Daniel, has “the memory” that allows him to remember his past lives. In every one of his lives, he is drawn to Sophia, a woman he fell in love with in one of his first lives. The main goal of each of his lives is to reunite with his one true love and to get her to fall in love with him. In each life, his first memories are always of Sophia. She is the string connecting all of his lives, and as he puts it, it’s her than makes him a person. In present day, she is Lucy, a fellow student at his high school, who just so happens to have strong feelings for him. The constant disappointment he feels when his plans to get close to her backfire, leaves him all the more desperate to reach her and convince her of her true identity. It actually reminds me of the movie “50 First Date,” though the main difference is that this epic love story spans centuries. It’s just altogether a beautiful story, with the added bonus of learning about ancient civilizations. It has joined the ranks of my favorite books I’ve ever read. I spoke to the author and she says she has plans to make this book into a trilogy, and I could not be more thrilled.

Hope this can hold us over!

I’m working on interviewing two of the authors mentioned, Wilson Smith and the lovely Kieran Scott. If you haven’t read any of the books listed here, I highly recommended you do! You won’t be disappointed.

As I’m new to the blogosphere, feel free to comment and tell me what you think of the blog so far!

Thanks for reading!

