51G+-xRfplL

The book “My Name is Memory” is easily in my Top 5 books I’ve ever read. Why? It’s just SO DAMN GOOD! I’ve re-read it a handful of times and although I know what’s coming, I still find myself diving into the story as if it were my first time. Ann Brashares is known for her series “The Sisterhood Of The Traveling Pants” which was turned into a feature film in 2005, with a sequel in 2008. Both films were largely successful and while they were pretty well done for adaptations, I still feel like they left out the real magic of the books.

Ann Brashares is just, simply stated, a brilliant writer. “My Name is Memory” starts out from the perspective of Lucy, a shy high school senior living in the shadow of her wild-child sister Dana. She is smitten by a mysterious boy, Daniel, who came to her school the year before but she’s far too shy to talk to him due to the fact that he keeps to himself. The two have never really spoken, but Lucy has fantasized about him since the first day he showed up. Lucy’s best friend, Marnie, tries to get Lucy to view him more realistically and keep her expectations low, but that doesn’t stop Lucy from hoping they will be together one day.

Lucy’s crush Daniel, is unique to say the least. He has something called “The Memory” which allows him to retain every detail of his past lives. His first life takes place at the dawn of civilization, and an interaction with a young girl whose death he is inadvertently responsible for sets him on a journey to find her in his next life. His main goal of each of his lives is to find the girl, Sophia, and make things right. When he is able to find her, he falls deeply in love with her. She may look different, but because of his memory, he is always able to know it is her.

When Daniel is able to find her, he is determined to explain who he is to her, but they often just miss each other and their timing never seems to be in their favor.

When they are finally able to be the same age at the same time, danger ensues and they must fight for their love and do whatever it takes to finally be happy and safe together after spending thousands of years apart.

As I mentioned before, this book is so beautifully written. Since the spans over thousands of years, the author does an amazing job describing the shifting time periods and paints a picture so vivid that you feel yourself being immersed in the story page by page. It’s a beautiful story that explores what lengths people will go to be with their soulmate. Brashares paints a picture of each time period so well and draws you into them in a way unlike any other author I’ve read. I feel like no matter how much I gush about loving this book, I can never seem to do it justice. It truly is a masterpiece of fiction, and Ann Brashares is, in my opinion, a very underrated author.

Do yourself a favor and read this book! I’ve recommended it to friends and family of mine, and they all have enjoyed it immensely. I’ve never read a book quite like it, and I hope and pray Ann Brashares decides to write a sequel!

Happy Reading,

Erin

 

