cc5d54171a4da9a8cdd19b5c4996ecdc

Oh, music. The delightful combination of lyrics and melodies that are able to capture emotions, take you back to a time gone by, break your heart, and then mend it back together. To me, music and books are very similar. Music, or songs to be exact, are just stories told through listening. Even songs without words tell a story, evoke emotion, and take you on a journey. Songs, much like books, can be interpreted in any number of ways by the listener. As a songwriter myself, people often ask me, “Who/what did you write that song about?” I never like to answer that question, because the story it tells the the individual listening to it isn’t up to me. I put it out in the world and let the listener take it and decide what it’s about. It’s truly one of the things I find most beautiful about music.

Now, I’ll stop waxing poetic about the beauty of music and get on with sharing with you some of my favorite songs. My taste in music is all over the place. That, I thank my parents for, because they instilled a love of music in me from birth. I am trying to do the same with my daughter, and I think she’s catching on. For example, her favorite songs at the moment are anything by Adele, Tear In My Heart by Twenty-one Pilots, Blame It On The Boogie by The Jackson 5, Shut Up And Dance With Me by Walk The Moon, and Cool Ya (Nobody Loves You Like I Do) by Andrew Ripp. She is not the most pleasant child to wake up in the morning, so I have taken to putting on a song she likes which literally makes her jump out of bed and start dancing. It’s a pretty effective system.
Last week I shared with you some of the mainstays on my playlists, this week I plan to share with you some of the more obscure items in my music library.

  1. You Ain’t Alone by The Alabama Shakes: I love this band. Their music is so incredibly soulful and is reminiscent of a musical era gone by. This song’s message is beautiful and just amazing.
    You Ain’t Alone (Live in Sydney)
  2. Running If You Call My Name by HAIM: I love this song, and this version is absolutely gorgeous. I love all their music, so it’s hard to choose one song of theirs but this performance in particular really shows what’s so unique and special about HAIM.
    Running If You Call Me Name (Live in Studio)
  3. Stars by Grace Potter And The Nocturnals: I had the pleasure of meeting Grace Potter when she was first starting out because we shared a manager at the time, and I heard her play in a famous recording studio I can’t remember the name of for the life of me and was absolutely blown away by her. Her voice is seriously one of the best I’ve ever heard. I picked this song because it’s special to me, but I love all her music especially a little known song of hers called Deliverance Road. I can’t find a live version of her singing it, but trust me, it’s amazing.
    Grace Potter And The Nocturnals – Stars (Live Acoustic)
  4. Savior and Just Enough by Andrew Ripp: Andrew Ripp is another musician I was lucky enough to meet and open for while I was in California. I couldn’t decide between these two songs, so here you go. He’s so incredibly talented and so underrated it’s almost criminal.
    Savior – (Live Acoustic)
    Just Enough feat. Charlene Marie (Live Acoustic)
  5. Ain’t No Reason by Brett Dennen: Brett Dennen has such a unique and beautiful voice and his music is just great.
    Ain’t No Reason – (Live Acoustic)
  6. All Hail The Heartbreaker by The Spill Canvas: My little emo heart loves this song.
    All Hail The Heartbreaker – Audio Only
  7. Remember To Breathe by Dashboard Confessional: Speaking of my little emo heart, Dashboard Confessional was the soundtrack of my teenage angst and I still love Chris Carrabba and his new venture Twin Forks but will always prefer his acoustic emo songs.
    Remember To Breathe (Live MTV Unplugged)
  8. Flowered Dresses by Slaid Cleaves: Just a pretty song I found randomly and have always enjoyed.
    Flowered Dresses – (Audio Only)
  9. Rain by Patty Griffin: A beautiful, heartfelt song, by an amazing singer/songwriter.
    Rain – (Live – Audio Only)
  10. Marry You by Tristan Prettyman: I’ve had the pleasure of seeing her live a few times, and she’s amazing. This version, you can hear the hurt and heartbreak in her voice and it’s beautiful.
    Marry You – (Live- One Mic One Take)

Hope you enjoyed this week’s installment of What’s Playing Wednesdays!
Feel free to comment below or subscribe below or follow my Facebook Page or follow me on Twitter.

Happy reading and listening,

Erin

 

 

