Given the fact that this book is a collection of small stories, conversations, and basically things that cannot be synopsized (is that a word? I don’t know, but I’m running with it) this review will be much shorter than my usual reviews.

Jesse Eisenberg writes high-brow humor, which is easiest described as the antithesis of the dick and fart jokes brand that actors/writers like Seth Rogen use. Let me state clearly and simply: I LOVE Seth Rogen and own every one of his movies, hell I even bought and watched The Guilt Trip, Take This Waltz, and freaking Green Hornet. So, I’m not dissing or slighting Seth Rogen’s type of comedy in any way, I’m just using him/his brand as an example. Back to Jesse Eisenberg, he’s obviously very smart in the way he writes and he’s incredibly witty, but I must say that while I enjoyed it immensely, it may not be for everyone. He uses a lot of irony, satire, and sarcasm that mixes into a dry humor that you usually only see across the pond in England. It’s definitely not your average “actor writes a book” scenario. Like I said before, he’s incredibly smart, so his humor is more complex than most, which I personally enjoyed. It’s not as easy as the humor others rely on, like “Knock knock – who’s there?” There are particularly intricate bits that require you to think about why they’re funny. Prime example: there’s a chapter about conversations people may have been having right before Mount Vesuvius ruptured and destroyed Pompeii.
I loved the first few chapters in which he rates fancy restaurants as his nine-year-old self, who would often go to fancy dinners out with his mom. Some sections of the book are better than others, but overall I really enjoyed it and if you like a book that’s funny but also requires you to use your brain, I’d say you’d enjoy it as well.

Good news is, if no one agrees with me about his book being good, I think he’s doing pretty well in his fall-back profession as an actor.